REPORT

TO: Councillors

FROM: Mayor

DATE: 19 October 2010

REFERENCE: C785

SUBJECT: COMMITTEE STRUCTURE AND APPOINTMENTS -

RCN10-10-12

1. PURPOSE OF THIS REPORT

To provide a proposed committee structure to Council.

2. BACKGROUND

The various statutes under which Council operates provide for delegation of powers and functions to committees, councillors, and staff. Such delegations are recorded in the Delegations Register.

The existing committee structure for the Tasman District Council includes four Standing Committees, and a number of Subcommittees. It also includes Council representative positions and appointments on joint and external committees, boards of council shareholding companies, working parties and forums.

The Mayor is currently ex officio on all Council Committees and Subcommittees.

3. DISCUSSION

The committee and appointment structure has worked well and I do not propose any signifiacant changes. The changes in the attached schedule are minor refinements and include:

- The Tasman Regional Transport Committee has been added
- The Mature Persons Subcommittee has been merged into the existing Community Awards Subcommittee
- The "Combined Shareholders" committee has been corrected to "Joint Shareholders" committee. This now recognises the two Council staff in attendance at meetings, instead of just the Chief Executive
- Nelson Tasman Physical Activity Plan Steering Group has been removed
- "Total Mobility" appointment has been amended to "Access for All"

Performing Arts Working Party has been removed

I also propose to despense with the portfolio system previously used, and instead, as and when Councillor involvement is required on a particular subject, I will seek the assistance of Councillors. The portfolios that do not otherwise involve a council appointment that have been removed are:

 Aquaculture, Civil Defence Emergency Management, Energy, Health, Heritage, Motorsport, Rural Services, Strategic Water Resources, Suter Gallery.

Local Government New Zealand has been split out to include the three different committees – the Regional Affairs Committee, the Rural and Provincial Sector committee and the Zone 5 representatives

"Tenders" has been amended to "Tenders Panel"

The recommended committee structure is attached and is reflected in the proposed Delegations Register, later in the agenda of this meeting.

At the time of this document going to print I have yet to finalise my recommendations to Council regarding the Councillors on each Committee, Subcommittee (including Chairs and Deputy Chairs) and other Representatives and Appointments. This will be tabled at the meeting of 28 October 2010.

4. RECOMMENDATION

THAT the Tasman District Council Committee structure and Councillor Portfolio list be adopted

THAT the Mayor be responsible for nominating the appropriate councillors to these Committees and Portfolios

R Kempthorne Mayor

TASMAN DISTRICT COUNCIL STANDING COMMITTEES	
MAYOR ex-officio on all Committees	R Kempthorne
DEPUTY MAYOR	
COMMUNITY SERVICES	ENGINEERING SERVICES
Chair Deputy	Chair Deputy
CORPORATE SERVICES	ENVIRONMENT AND PLANNING
Chair Deputy	Chair Deputy
TASMAN REGIONAL TRANSPORT COMMITTEE	
5 Councillors	

TASMAN DISTRICT COUNCIL SUBCOMMITTEES		
MAYOR ex-officio on all Subcommittees	R Kempthorne	
COUNCIL ENTERPRISES (Reporting to Corporate Services) Chair plus 4 Councillors	CREATIVE COMMUNITIES (Reporting to Community Services) Chair Councillor Plus community representatives	
AUDIT (Reporting to Corporate Services) Chair plus 5 Councillors	GRANTS AND COMMUNITY FACILITIES RATE (Reporting to Community Services) Chair plus 4 Councillors	
COMMUNITY AWARDS 2 Councillors	CEO REVIEW (Reporting to Council) Mayor plus 2 Councillors	
COMMUNICATIONS (Reporting to Corporate Services) Chair plus 2 Councillors	DEVELOPMENT CONTRIBUTIONS 2 Councillors	

TASMAN DISTRICT COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVES AND APPOINTMENTS		
Joint Committees of Nelson and Tasman Councils		
Joint Shareholders Mayor R Kempthorne 2 Councillors	Nelson Regional Sewerage Business Unit 2 Councillors	
In attendance: Chief Executive Corporate Services Manager		
Directorships		
Port Nelson Limited Council Director	Nelson Airport Limited Council Director	
Other Representatives		
Tasman Regional Sports Trust Board Mayor	Nelson Tasman Business Trustee Councillor	
Appointments Committee (Tasman Bays Heritage Trust) Mayor Chief Executive	Positive Ageing Forum Councillor	
Access for All Councillor	Tasman Youth Council 2 Councillors	
Mayors Taskforce for Jobs – Nelson Tasman Connections Steering Group Mayor	Nelson Tasman Housing Forum 2 Councillors Chief Executive	
Regional Funding Forum 2 Councillors	TB Free/Animal Health Board Councillor	
Friendly Towns Councillor	Golden Bay Patriotic Welfare Committee Councillor	
Local Government New Zealand Zone 5 Mayor Chief Executive Regional Affairs Committee Mayor Chief Executive Rural and Provincial Sector Strategic Development Manager Deputy Mayor	Tenders Panel 3 Councillors Chief Executive	
Maori Liaison/Ethnic Affairs Mayor	Patriotic Council Councillor	
Port Nelson Trust Councillor	Talking Heads Mayor Chief Executive	