This section provides information about the iwi of Te Tauihu o Te Waka a Māui, the top of the South Island.

Home » My Region » Iwi

Eight iwi are manawhenua in Te Tauihu:

  • Ngāti Koata
  • Ngāti Toa Rangatira
  • Ngāti Rārua
  • Te Ātiawa
  • Ngāti Tama ki Te Waipounamu
  • Ngāti Kuia
  • Ngāti Apa ki te Rā Tō
  • Rangitāne o Wairau

Tasman District also covers the north-western part of the Ngāi Tahu takiwā (territory). Murchison is within the Ngāti takiwā and Ngāti Waewae are the manawhenua on this north-western side.

Statutory acknowledgements

A statutory acknowledgment is legal recognition of the particular cultural, spiritual, historical and traditional association of an iwi with an identified statutory area.


The Māori population has increased steadily in recent years. As at the 2018 Census there were 4,572 Māori in the Tasman District - a 33% increase since 2013.

Together Te Tauihu agreement

The Together Te Tauihu agreement was signed in Whakatū Nelson in December 2023 by the chairs of the eight tangata whenua iwi of Te Tauihu o te Waka-a-Māui (the top of the South Island) and the mayors of Tasman, Nelson and Marlborough. The signing came following overwhelming support from the three councils. In both Tasman and Nelson, councillors voted unanimously to support the partnership agreement.

Read the agreement (pdf 5 MB).

This page provides a brief overview of marae in our region.

Contact details for iwi authorities and Māori organisations of Te Tauihu and within the Tasman District.

Websites for research as well as links to government departments and agencies.

Various iwi management plans are lodged with us to help us consider changes to resource management plans or statements.